Steve Stanton

WELCOME!   

SFstantonYou have reached the new webspace of Canadian author Steve Stanton. I divide my habitation seasonally between Englewood, Florida and the Muskoka Lakes area of Ontario. Personal interviews are published online at CBCBooks, BookMarketingBuzz and OpenBook Ontario. Please click on book images below for Amazon links and samples, or the many stories freely available on the internet in many languages.

Books Currently in Print:

final_art_version2 RetributionredemptionThe Bloodlight Chronicles “explores the repercussions of chemical immortality, the nature of religion, life beyond death, and the politics and ethics of revenge. Set in a future where economic transactions are tied into virtual gaming, this elegantly written sf series features believable characters and powerful situations.” (Library Journal, 2011, reviewed by Teresa L. Jacobsen.) “The Bloodlight Chronicles by Steve Stanton is a complex ride into the virtual future.” (Amazing Stories, 2013, reviewed by Ricky L. Brown.) “Stylistically streamlined, this vibrant series should appeal to fans of Bruce Sterling and William Gibson.” (Library Journal, reviewed by Jackie Cassada.) Now available in Audiobook from Audible.com.

From the author of The Bloodlight Chronicles comes a new novel of interplanetary intrigue: a pretty girl falls from the sky, a handsome boy rises from the underground, and a popular newscaster dares to tell the real story. (Freenet: Release date to be announced by ECW Press!)

 

Stories Currently in Print:

T-18-Cover-110x170-100dpi-C8“Soul Survivor” is upcoming March 2015 in Tesseracts 18: Wrestling With Gods, edited by Liana Kerzner and Jerome Stueart, to be published in Canada by Edge Publishing. Advance digital copies are available exclusively from Amazon Kindle.

 

 

 

 

Fractured-web use“Keeper of the Oasis” is now available in Fractured: Tales of the Canadian Post-Apocalypse, edited by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, published in Canada by Exile Editions, Sept 2014.

  
“We like to imagine the end. How we might survive. How we might live after the fateful moment that changes everything. That moment has arrived—welcome to Canada, after the apocalypse! Fractured is a collection of stories by more than 20 writers who imagine life after the end of days.”

 

 

hedge1400“Hedge of Protection” was first published in On Spec, 2011, an excerpt from the novel Retribution, in which Zak Davis visits a famous Haitian shaman in search of the afterlife spirit of his dead wife. “Lots of local atmosphere and colour and a surprising resolution that is not flagged up in the tale.” (SF Crowsnest). “The author spoke with authenticity on Haitian culture. The dialogue and characters felt real to me, and I admired how the author crafted the blend of magic and medicine.” (Regan Wolfrom)

This issue On Spec #85 also featured an interview. “‘Steve Stanton: Writing With Faith and Hope for the Future,’ is an author interview by Roberta Laurie. She learns about Steve Stanton and his working life as a self-employed entrepreneur at a digital print shop in the late 90s which led to his creating his own Indie Print company. He explains his creative process and his inspiration from science fiction and cyberpunk. Readers can gain a definite insight into the author’s world, his interests and which writers he likes the best.” (SF Site, 2012, Reviewed by Sandra Scholes.)

 

writing“The Writing on the Wall” was first published in 2005 in Tesseracts Nine, Aurora Award Winner 2006, edited by Nalo Hopkinson and Geoff Ryman. “Steve Stanton contributes a time-travel story about a child who becomes a mathematical genius after meeting his future self.” (Booklist, American Library Association, 2005, Reviewed by Carl Hays) “I was also impressed by Steve Stanton’s ‘The Writing on the Wall,’—in which good characterization carries an otherwise simple tale of a mathematician determined to prove the possibility of time travel.” (SF Site, 2005, Reviewed by Donna McMahon) “‘The Writing on the Wall,’ by Steve Stanton, tells the tragic tale of the unexceptional midlife crisis of an exceptional man…on a Kafkaesque note.” (Quill & Quire, 2005, Reviewed by Tracey Thomas) “‘The Writing on the Wall’ by Steve Stanton, unlike many of the other stories in this genre, does provide a moment of hope for humanity…yet it isn’t technology that offers hope, but emotion.” (The Harrow, 2005, Reviewed by Dru Pagliassotti)

 

 

timestealer“Timestealer” has been published in a dozen countries and ten languages to widespread admiration. This short story was first published in 1990 in Rampike with cover design by William S. Burroughs.

timestealer1

Bli Panika – 2009, Israel

“Perhaps the best story is ‘Timestealer’, by Steve Stanton, about a man who records short experiences from other people, at the cost of their memory of the experience, and his search for truly novel material.” (Locus Magazine, 2004, Reviewed by Richard Horton)

“In four short pages, he takes the reader into the character of a man who makes his living stealing experiences, memories, from people, and selling them to others. It is a huge comment on humanity, and no doubt, if we possessed the technology to steal and package memories, there would be shops in malls from coast-to-coast. Stanton takes virtual reality a step further and makes the point that people want to escape to something more exciting, and in this future world, nothing is sacred. No doubt the tabloid press has been driven out of business by this new industry—who needs pictures when you can live the memory.” (Kamikaze Magazine, 1994, Reviewed by Blaine Howard)

“This reminded me a bit of Philip K. Dick’s “We Can Remember It for You Wholesale,” the inspiration for the movie “Total Recall.” (Dark Wolf’s Fantasy Reviews, 2008)

perfectmatch“Perfect Match” has been published ten times in six languages, one of the first Biopunk stories of record. This dystopian tale first appeared in 1992 in On Spec, Issue #9.

PedroBelushi

Axxón – 2010, Argentina

“‘Perfect Match’ is the kind of story that gives you a deep sense of satisfaction in reading it. It’s a story of love and sacrifice, but has its moment where hope and happiness shine through the dark recess of poverty. (Kasma SF Magazine, 2012, Reviewed by Alexander Korovessis)

“In his strange futuristic creations, Stanton works with the language of science and technology to present men and women as beings on a sort of conveyor belt to doom. The most striking aspect of these stories is their incredible lack of sentiment. The reader is required to inject his or her own emotional reactions, and the effect is weighty. In ‘Perfect Match,’ Stanton portrays a future so uncaring that body parts are bought and sold by living recipients and donors. It is a world common to Stanton’s vision, where money is tight and people remain in tight family units because no one else will offer any help at all.” (Reviewed by Blaine Howard, 1994) “Perfect Match” is now available in French translation in Solaris, and freely available online in Spanish and Hungarian.

Nova Fantasia - 2014

Nova Fantasia – 2014

“Eternal Virus” is now available in Galician in Nova Fantasia. This opening excerpt from the novel Retribution is freely available in English at Ray Gun Revival.
 

SF_Canada_Bloodlight

Comments are closed.